What Are You Holding On To? – A Lesson In Self Deception

Recently a decision was made for me. Something that I was holding on to desperately for years was not turning out as I had hoped and I had fooled myself in to thinking that maybe the long rage forecast might, might be good. They are two investment properties that I thought would come good for retirement that have now gone in to receivership.
Initially, I was in shock. I went in to my solicitor to see what I could do but when they looked at the figures and they looked at me they could see clearly that they weren’t “washing their faces” to use a phrase. It was true. It was simple.
Robert Kiyosaki of Rich Dad Poor Dad fame wrote in one of his books that if you can get this concept clear in your head then you’ve got it; an asset is something that puts money in your pocket and a liability is something that takes money out of your pocket. It’s really that simple but I had been trying to hang on to a liability in the hope that they would come good.
While they are not sold, they are not mine for now and it feels great. I have an energy that had been used to worry and I have a clarity of vision that had been clouded by misguided hope. I had failed to be honest with myself and look at the numbers for so long that I thought that what I should do is fight for it. Sometimes we fight so hard to hold on to liabilities in our lives that it becomes part of our lives and we think that’s the way it should be.
This is true of worry, grudges, revenge and a judgmental mindset. All these take from us using energy on things we cannot change. Yet we can live with them for so long that we think that’s just the way it is. Assets like love, forgiveness and a nonjudgmental mind allows us to live outside the opinions and criticism of others, to invest in ourselves with great return. They free up our energy and vision to seek what truly sustains us.

You can read the inspiration story about Jenny if you click here.

Leave a Reply

