Whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant,

Yep, it’s another quote from one of the earliest and voluminous personal development books, the Bible. Widely read and translated in to several languages, although I’ve never seen a copy with a big banner across it saying “Over 20 million copies sold!”.

Is it possible to have a re-epiphany? You know, when this realisation hits you out of the blue like the it’s the first time but then you remember that it isn’t the first time? I had one recently. It came from listening to a friend of mine talk about the circumstances leading up to her current situation which finds her living in a beautiful 2 bed apartment on a Greek island for next-to-nothing. She’s really loving life and her business is on fire. Deservedly so.

She was making the point that she had put others first for so long that she had lost track of what made her happy. She wasn’t begrudging, it was an observation. So many of us do it, especially parents. Parents find themselves giving unconditionally and without thought that the battery goes flat. I’m not saying neglect the kids but I am saying look after yourself and don’t forget to put yourself first.

Why put yourself first? A wise man was told me “The best way to help the poor is to not be one of them.” The sentiment is simple, how give you give alms to the poor if you don’t have any yourself? How can you give energy to your business or your kids if you don’t have any yourself. How can you give if you don’t have?

So where does that put me? Well if I’m going to lead by demonstration I’m going to have to be the best me that I can be. And who wins ultimately by my success? Well, everyone around me. If I AM poor how can I help other poor people? What resources do I have? And let me add this, there is no virtue in poverty. So let me put my goals first, let’s have the bigger house, the newer, nicer and safer car and let’s travel with our kids to broaden their minds. Let’s be the best that we can be for glory of living.

“Did you have a good life when you died? Enough to base a movie on?” Jim Morrison.

Leave a Reply

